TSWA All-State Team

TSWA All-State Team

by Steve Gamel

The high school football season has been over for three months and postseason honors continue to roll in for the Guyer football team.

The Texas Sports Writers Association released its Class 6A All-State team in February, and four Wildcats made the list.

Safety Bryce Jackson was a second team selection while lineman John Lanz, running back Noah Cain and tight end Brian Polendey received honorable mention.

Jackson, in particular, has had a busy offseason in terms of accolades as he was also the Wingstop Scholar Athlete of the Month in February. The Northwestern signee has a 4.85 GPA and was presented with a check for $1,000.

On the football field, Jackson excelled with 112 tackles and two interceptions for a defense that gave up a stingy 16 points per game with one shutout in district. In four of those seven district games, Guyer allowed 10 or fewer points.

Noah Cain, who recently transferred to IMG Academy and is no longer a student at Guyer, rushed for 1,683 yards and 22 touchdowns at Guyer. Polendey, who signed with Miami, turned heads as more of a blocking tight end, but he still caught seven passes for 60 yards with one touchdown. He and Lanz were instrumental in paving the way for Guyer’s vaunted running attack on offense.



Quarterback Charlie Brewer: Austin Lake Travis, sr.

Running Backs Kennedy Brooks: Mansfield, sr., Trelon Smith: Cypress Ridge, sr., Josh Fields: EP Americas, sr.

Fullback Kelan Walker: DeSoto, jr.

Split Ends (tie) Charleston Rambo: Cedar Hill, sr., O’Shae Clark: Cypress Springs, sr., Kesean Carter: The Woodlands, jr.

Tight End Cade Brewer: Austin Lake Travis, sr.

Tackles (tie) Xavier Newman: DeSoto, sr., Carson Green: Southlake Carroll, sr., Kenyon Green: Humble Atascocita, soph.


Edward Ingram: DeSoto, sr., Khayman Johnson: North Shore, sr.

Center Ryan Miller: Southlake Carroll, sr

Place-kicker (tie) Michael Ewton: Allen, sr.

Cameron Dicker: Austin Lake Travis, jr.

All-purpose KaDarrian Nixon: DeSoto, sr.


Linemen K’Lavon Chaisson: North Shore, sr., TJ Simien: Austin Lake Travis, sr., Michael Purcell: The Woodlands, sr., Kobie Whiteside: Alief Taylor, sr.

Linebackers Terrel Bernard: La Porte, sr., Anthony Hines: Plano East, sr., Riko Jeffers: Sachse, sr., Kolby Watts: DeSoto, sr.


Christian Waller: Clear Springs, jr., Isaiah Stewart: DeSoto, sr., Javontavious Mosley:John Tyler, sr., Brandon Pflueger: Round Rock, sr.

Punter James Lynch: Round Rock, sr.

Kick Returner Peyton Sawyer: League City Clear Springs, jr.

Related Articles

Lady Hawks Repeat Champions

The Hebron volleyball team had been unstoppable all season long. No matter how many top-ranked opponents stood in their way,

The Colony All-District

District 14-5A All-District The Colony Boys Soccer 2018 Co-MVP: Blake Henson, Lake Dallas; Xander Shelton, Prosper Offensive MVP: Guy Esquivel, Carrollton RL

Football: What’s All the Fuss About With Split Divisions in Class 5A?

by Steve Gamel If you’ve been paying attention to high school football storylines, you may have heard about the University

No comments

Write a comment
No Comments Yet! You can be first to comment this post!

Write a Comment

Your e-mail address will not be published.
Required fields are marked*