Cougars Hold Their Own All-District Team

Cougars Hold Their Own All-District Team

by Steve Gamel

The Colony football team turned a lot of heads in 2017. If you need more proof, look no further than the Cougars’ overwhelming representation on this year’s District 14-5A All-District team.

The Cougars had 25 players make this year’s list, including three superlative honorees. The rest were spread out among the first and second teams. Top honors went to quarterback Mikey Harrington, who was named co-offensive newcomer of the year. Myles Price and Peter Kimani nabbed two-way player and co-defensive lineman of the year honors, respectively.

Below is the complete All-District team for District 14-5A.

District 14-5A All-District Team
District MVP: Lamar Lucas, McKinney North, Sr.; Kaleb Adams, Prosper, Sr.
Offensive Newcomer of the Year: Marshall Funches, Carrollton Newman Smith, So.; Mikey Harrington, The Colony, So.
Offensive MVP: Ryan Depperschmidt, Lake Dallas, Jr.; Cameron Constantine, McKinney North, Jr.
Offensive Lineman of the Year: Zach Frazier, McKinney North, Sr.
Offensive Utility Player of the Year: DJ Love, Prosper, Sr.; Ky’lee Smith, Lake Dallas, Jr.
Special Teams Player of the Year: Cade York, Prosper, Jr.
Two-Way Player of the Year: Myles Price, The Colony, So.
Coach of the Year: Brandon Smith, Prosper
Defensive Newcomer of the Year: Carson Criss, McKinney North, So.
Defensive MVP: Zalen Long, Lake Dallas, Sr.; Justin Benvie, Prosper, Sr.; Obed Guerrero, Carrollton R.L. Turner, Sr.
Defensive Lineman of the Year: Jevin Jackson, Prosper, Sr.; Peter Kimani, The Colony, Sr.; DL Roberson, Lake Dallas, Jr.
Defensive Utility Player of the Year: Brandon Crossley, Little Elm, Jr.

First Team Offense
Quarterback: Logan Kohler, Little Elm, Jr.
Running Back: Corey Moses, Little Elm, Sr.; Glenn Young, Little Elm, Sr.; Jadan Abdallah, The Colony, Jr.; Jarod Hall, Carrollton Creekview, Sr.
Tight End: Brandon Frazier, McKinney North, So; Aiden Carr, Prosper, Sr.; Ryan Mora, The Colony, Jr.
H Back: Andre Overton, Carrollton Newman Smith, Sr.; Marcus Moore, The Colony, So.
Fullback: Obed Guerrero, Turner, Sr.; Jose Rangel, The Colony, Sr.
Receiver: Devin Haskins, Prosper, Jr., Brandon Engel, Lake Dallas, So.; Charles Williams, Lake Dallas, Sr.; Kevin Terry, Little Elm, Sr.
Tackle: Adrian Franco, The Colony, Sr.; Hayden Brockenbush, Lake Dallas, Jr.; Jacob Kimball, Little Elm, Jr.; Cameron Coler, McKinney North, Jr.
Guard: John Hughes, Carrollton Creekview, Sr.; Zach McMahon, McKinney North, Jr.; Carson Shaffer, Prosper, Jr.; Grayson Winters, Prosper, Sr.; Elias De Leon, Little Elm, Jr.
Center: Dalton Wilcox, Little Elm, Sr.

First Team Defense
Defensive Lineman: Keshon Dawson, Little Elm, Jr.; Ben Kopenski, Prosper, Sr.; Marcus Moore, The Colony, So.
Defensive End: Chi Chi Odo, McKinney North, Sr.; Kevin Simes, Prosper, Sr., Luke McPherson, Creekview, Jr.; Jakob Machuca, Lake Dallas, Sr.
Inside Linebacker: Zach Graham, Lake Dallas, Sr.; Roy Goins, Little Elm, Sr.; Blake Young, McKinney North, Sr.
Outside Linebacker: Ross Hendley, Prosper, Sr.; Noah Ellis, Prosper, Sr.; Darryl Minor, Lake Dallas, Jr.
Corners: Tavion Carr, Little Elm, Sr.; Keyon Walker, McKinney North, Sr.; Armon Johnson, Prosper, Sr.
Safeties: Cameron Pair, The Colony, Jr.; Junior Espinoza, Little Elm, Jr.; Blake Harrington, Prosper, Sr.
Kicker: Cristian Gonzales, Carrollton Newman Smith, Sr.; Nick Dill, The Colony, Sr.
Punter: Keegan Sueltz, The Colony, Sr.

Related Articles

Hebron Theatre

Don’t miss out on this seasons performances from the Hebron Theatre Company. Their first performance will be One Man, Two

Foodie Friday DFW: Hillside Fine Grill

Foodie Friday DFW: Hillside Fine Grill   by Jay Marks of Jay Marks Real Estate 972.724.2540 Residents of Highland

5 Fall Garage Organizing Tips

by Crystal Nerpel Cloud Nine Organizing Fall has arrived! By now, everyone has started dragging out the fall decorations

No comments

Write a comment
No Comments Yet! You can be first to comment this post!

Write a Comment